A special gift from a special friend

October 3, 2008 § 5 Comments

Things are not going that well with me. I started working on the Tetris baby blanket. I had finished more than 100 rows when I noticed I had goofed up. It kept nagging me and I decided to tink back and correct the mistake. Only when I started tinking that I realized tinking and intarsia is a very dangerous combination. A handful of working yarns, twisted yarns where colors change, tangled yarn and so many loose ends – I ended up tinking more than I intended. What I am left with now is a blanket with 40 odd rows, a big ball of tangled yarn and a heartbreak. I don’t have the heart to look at the blanket, so I have hidden it. I am going to start with a new baby blanket pattern for now and will worry about this failed Tetris blanket later.

Okay, let us look at some positive things. My Ravelry friend, Preeti, ordered the book Knitter’s Almanac twice by mistake and asked me if I wanted a copy. I didn’t have that book in my collection and who doesn’t want a EZ book, right? So she decided to send me this book all the way from Dubai. The package arrived last week. I knew she was going to send me that book in the package but what surprised me were the other things!

There is the book, of course. A self retracting measuring tape, a pack of body lotion etc. in a lovely lavender fragrance and a cute card. What is not in the photo is a pack of Hershey’s kisses. The reason it is not in the photo is because err… I ate all of them! I have an excuse, I have a craving, you see. Thank so much Preeti, you are an angel! How did you know I was craving for chocolates?

Phildar copacabana in such lovely colors. I love the texture of this yarn. It is papery and so soft.

The best of all is this one. Can you see the cute footprints? The photo doesn’t do justice! It was so sweet of Preeti to think of making this for me. It is such a nice gesture.

After the disastrous Tetris blanket, this gift was a great help in lifting my spirits. Preeti, thank you so much for such a nice and touching gift.

§ 5 Responses to A special gift from a special friend

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading A special gift from a special friend at Knit In Time.

meta