Childhood

July 15, 2010 § 5 Comments

My youngest nephew (or should I say nephew-in-law) and I share a very special bond. When my sister-in-law was expecting this little guy, I wanted to make something handmade for him. I had seen my aunts knit sweaters and booties for infants, so I planned to do the same. Our landlady of the house where we lived at that time was an expert knitter and agreed to teach me knitting. Off I went to Surya Emporium, Commercial Street and bought my first pair of knitting needles and a ball of Wendy’s baby yarn. She taught me the basic knits and purls and helped me knit my first pair of booties. Thus began my knitting saga and I have not looked back since.

The little baby who was the recipient of my first knitted object ever is a handsome 4-year old now. I made my first big project, a baby cardigan, for him when he was around a year old. When I met him last, I saw him wearing the same cardigan which he had clearly outgrown. My sister-in-law and mother-in-law refuse to let go of this hand-knit sweater. (Didn’t I say my in-laws are extremely supportive?) I was touched by their appreciation and decided to knit another sweater for my nephew, which he can comfortably wear.

Childhood (ravelry link) by Natalie Wilson catches your attention at the first glance. The striped sleeves and hood, the striped button bands – these add life to an otherwise plain cardigan. The pattern has instructions for a non-hooded option too. My biggest problem with this pattern is that it is not seamless. I know, I don’t have any rights to complain because I knew it was seamed before I began the project, but still, I want to rant that this cardigan wants you to seam at every possible place – sleeves, underarms, left and right joins, button bands (can you believe it?). I did modify the pattern a wee bit to attaching the button bands as I went to avoid two seams. I don’t exaggerate when I say I spent more time on seaming than knitting. If I make this cardigan every again, I will convert it to seamless first.

These yarns are few of the very first I added to my stash. I bought this with a plan of making a ruffled top for my niece, but that never materialized. I was skeptical of using these colors for a boy, but I think they look ok. Yarns are from Patel’s store, Jayanagar – the standard, Vardhaman 4-ply acrylic yarn. Buttons are from Pydal’s.

The sweater turned out ok. There are quite a few mistakes in there, but not visible, thankfully. I can’t wait to give this to my little nephew who is the very reason why I knit today. Every year on his birthday, when he turns a year older, I realize I am growing as a knitter too. You see, I am a 4-year old knitter now!

§ 5 Responses to Childhood

  • Sweater is very cute. I agree with you about seaming. Hate it with a passion! I will pass over a pattern if I have a lot of seaming to do after I’ve spend time knitting the thing in the first place. Sometimes I can adapt the pattern (especially a child’s sweater) to eliminate some of the seams. Sometimes I can’t and have to decide if I still want to knit it.

  • yarnydays says:

    I think it is a cute sweater! Forget the mistakes…they are all a part of it!

  • Preeti says:

    What a cute sweater despite all the seaming woes. The buttons are a bright touch :: love! Congratulations on turning 4 (in knitting years!)
    🙂

  • Amy says:

    I made that sweater for a friend’s baby and loved it. I’m not too excited about seaming, but the more I do, the better I get!

    You can see it on my Rav account: doggerham

  • GmaNancy says:

    I love your sweater. I knit it also, but am still trying to find large plastic snaps to go behind the buttons in place of button holes. Did you make button holes?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Childhood at Knit In Time.

meta

